Sewing Project #8 – Printed Georgette Tank Top


Did you know that tank tops were actually an undergarment worn under a Tshirt or top! When you hear the word tank top, the loose white sleeveless outfit comes on your mind, right? The Tank top fashion took off around 1970 or 1980’s, later on it became a popular item for both men and women to wear as an outer garment. Some of the printed tank tops took inspiration from the great graphic artists. Today,  Tank tops come in wide array of different styles and prints.  

Now we shift to the tank top I made! As you can see in the pictures, it is a geometric printed fabric with the dash of pink and purple colour.

Printed Tank Top

I came across this print in lot of fabric shops in Mumbai. The print itself is pleasing so I thought of making it a simple tank top rather than a complex design.

Geometric Tank Top

The neckline of the top is not deep because the whole pink & purplish coloured part would have got cut, so I kept it very simple.

Tank top - Printed

I gave it a loose-fitting look because Georgette fabrics are supposed to be flowy, light and not very tight fitted. 

Sewing - Printed tank top

What do you think of my new tank top? Do let me know. 

Stay tuned because I’m going to show you my simple DIY project! Coming soon 🙂